If you’re in the middle of medical school interview season, this post is for you!

The medical school admissions cycle was easily the most stressful thing I have ever experienced in my life – and the interviews were a HUGE part of that. It is so easy to feel inadequate and thoroughly unqualified heading into interviews, especially when you see so many successful and stupidly accomplished people around.

Most of the schools I interviewed at had an MMI (Multiple Mini Interview) format. Essentially, you read a question that’s posted on the door, have 2 minutes to think about it, and then a loud bell rings. You walk into the room, and have 7 minutes to answer the question before another bell rings and you move on to the next question at the next door. Talk about stress-inducing!

Now, let me preface this by saying I have no idea if I was admitted to medical school because of my interview, or in spite of my interview – so take this with a grain of salt! But while most applicants spend their sacred 2 minutes developing a framework with which to answer the question, constructing well-reasoned arguments, and analyzing multiple viewpoints to ethical challenges, I spent my 2 minutes quietly singing hymns to myself. Then, when the bell rang, I walked in the room, introduced myself, and said whatever came to mind.

God put these hymns in my heart and mind on interview day to remind me that He was carrying me through the entire process. My interviews actually turned out to be such sweet times of worship! Because I hadn’t thought out any answers to the interview questions, I also was forced to say whatever came to my mind first – I kind of think God used these hymns to block my own words so that he could do the talking!

So, here they are: the hymns that brought me to where I am today (sitting at school for the 9th hour in a row, studying for midterms…)

  1. Great Is Thy Faithfulness – summer and winter, in springtime and harvest, great is His faithfulness!

Great is Thy Faithfulness has become my anthem of medical school – His faithfulness has been so evident to me, and he truly has provided everything I need.

 

2. How Great Thou Art

 

3. It Is Well With My Soul

 

4. Nearer, My God, to Thee

 

5. Be Thou My Vision – Be thou my wisdom and be my true Word!

 

Good luck to those of you interviewing for medical school in the next few months! Remember that He is going before you and preparing a place for you:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord. “Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

-Jeremiah 29:11

How are you/did you prepare for med school interviews? Do you have a favourite hymn? Have a wonderful Sunday! -H

