Phew – this week has been a doozy.

Last weekend was a long weekend because of Family Day, and I actually managed to get a lot of work done (finally!) I didn’t quite get through my entire to-do list, but I checked off a lot of little things that I had been putting off for a while, so that felt good!

On Sunday morning, a friend and I decided to get up early to watch what was supposed to be a beautiful sunrise. Turns out, we both dragged our bums out the door at 7am for nothing – it was completely clouded over!

Mt Toomie.jpg
Full disclosure – in Victoria, “waking up for nothing” means waking up for a not-as-stellar-as-usual-but-still-amazing view!

The next morning, I decided to head out for an early morning run – and I ended up catching one of the most beautiful sunrises I’ve ever seen!

sunrise-harbour

sunrise-monument
Can you believe this view is only a 10 minute run from my front door?? I am always amazing at beautiful it is here.

I just love the early morning, so this week I made sure to get up early every day to run and swim. It’s so peaceful and refreshing to get outside while the rest of the world is still asleep!

Monday was a holiday, so after doing some studying, we had a girls’ night potluck at our house with some of our classmates. It was so nice to get to spend time with everybody outside of class!

Class this week was disease-heavy, but so interesting. We’re in our hematology mini-block (2 consecutive weeks in our spiral curriculum), and this week’s case was about bleeding disorders and hematologic malignancies.

I have loved this block, so I’m a little sad that it’s already over. It’s been very algorithmic, and cases feel very much like solvable puzzles – all the pieces eventually fall into place. It’s so satisfying when you finally get the last piece and the picture takes shape! There’s also lots of flow charts…and I love me some flow charts…

Screenshot (45).png
What 3 days of medical school looks like in flow-chart form… (send help!)

Genetics and pediatrics are also pretty substantial components of this block, since there are so many inherited blood disorders that present in infancy and early childhood. That’s made this week even more interesting for me! Who knows – maybe a career in pediatric hematology is in my future?? For now it’s definitely on my list of possibilities!

Even though class has been interesting, this week has been pretty draining, overwhelming, and frankly just really stressful. I am trying to have a bit more compassion for myself – medical school is hectic, so it’s okay to be feeling this way. I’m also trying to find rest in God’s promise to help us persevere.

“We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives, so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way…being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience”

-Colossians 1:9-11

What about you – did you learn anything interesting this week? Are you a morning person?

Remember, the shadow proves the sunshine! -H

