I moved to Vancouver Island one month ago! *happy dance*

In the last 31 days, I have moved from Vancouver to Victoria, flew home to Kitchener for Christmas, flew back to Victoria, started medical school, flew to Calgary for a retreat, got sick, and made some wonderful new friends. Phew! I am exhausted just thinking about it.

Victoria has been wonderful so far – God’s has really provided everything I need here! I have found a really amazing community here, both in school, in church, and in life. I am learning that God truly does know our hearts and rejoices when we find joy.

The young lions suffer want and hunger; but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing.

-Psalm 34:10

Week Recap

This week was (finally) our last week of neurology…I am super ready to be done drawing neurocircuitry!

Neuro.jpg

This week’s case was actually pretty interesting, all things considered. The case was about traumatic brain injury, so we learned a lot about concussions, neuropsychiatric complications like depression and PTSD, and all the bad things that can happen when you bleed into your cranial cavity (picture squeezing icing out of a tube, except the icing is your brain and the tube is your skull…mmm yum.)

I managed to get out for a few swims and some runs this week! After being sick for a few weeks it was so refreshing to finally get my body moving.

The view on my run wasn’t half bad either: 20170202_151738.jpg

Seriously though, how could anybody not love it here??

I took a personal day on Friday and took a solo mini-vacation trek to Vancouver…to see Relient K and Switchfoot! As much as I adore Relient K for their awkwardness and musicality, I am always so impressed with Switchfoot’s incredible showmanship combined with such sweet humility. They also know how to pick one heck of a set list!

I even got to go to a Jon Foreman aftershow and chat with him for a bit! I thought going to a concert by myself would be sad and lonely, but it was actually really nice to be able to enjoy it alone.

On Saturday morning I woke up super early, got a bit of work done, grabbed brunch with a friend, then caught the ferry back to the island. It was a great end to the week, but it sure is nice to be back! Definitely feels like home.

I need to get some more work done this week since midterms are coming up, but I’m feeling refreshed and rejuvenated!

Have you ever gone to a concert by yourself? Was it lonely or was it fun?

Have a great week! -H

